Iowawhitetail forums

Go Back   Iowawhitetail forums > Whitetail Conference > Gear and Equipment > Muzzleloading and Traditional Archery
Register Blogs FAQ Members List IW Links IW Photo Gallery PMA Big Buck Contest PMA Membership Detail Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Hunting Land 4-Sale
Sponsors
Lick Creek Enterprises
Feeder Information

Blind Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2012, 12:06 PM   #1
westernsix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 118
Default Best loads with CVA Accura V2

Ok guys I am headed to get me new V2 here shortly. I have an idea on what I want to shoot, my current set up with my old hawken (115gr loose pyrodex, 250gr bonded TC superglide). However, with the new gun I would like to make the move to pellets I think? I am looking at the magnum 777 pellets and seeing where that starts off with my current set up. According to data its looking at 2005 fps or so for velocity, but I want and am most concerned about accuracy at 150-200 yards. I do a lot of open country spot/stalk in late season and I need to be confident with that range. My current set up I have taken deer at 250 and felt very confident in taking those shots with the ideal conditions. What are your best loads for this gun???
westernsix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:53 PM   #2
msauer933
PMA Member
 
msauer933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 637
Default

I am using 100 grains (Volume) of Blackhorn 209 and Barnes 250 gr TMZ bullets/sabots. I am getting 1 inch groups at 100 yds. The Blackhorn powder burns a little hotter so I use CCI 209M (Magnum) primers.

I started out with 120 grains but my gun didn't like it. It would group a couple rounds then throw a flier 6 inches off. That's not to say your Accura wouldn't like it or it would work with a heavier or different brand sabot.

You will like the Blackhorn. It shoots much cleaner than 777. I don't have to run a patch between shots at the range. Just clean it up after a shooting session. You also use traditional cleaners that you would use for your rifle or shotgun. I use Hoppes #9 and follow that with a thin layer of oil in the barrel.
msauer933 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:55 PM   #3
cvadave
Member
 
cvadave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 49
Default

X2 on the BH 209 love it, My accura likes 110 grains by weight, and will shoot the 300 gr hornady's with harvester short black sabots, or the Harvester 300 gr PT GOLD, with the crushed rib sabots, either bullet 3 rounds 1 inch group at 100 yds, 2.5 inch group at 200,
Check out the firing pin head spacing video, for blow back from the primer
cvadave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 02:05 PM   #4
FrontierGander
Member
 
FrontierGander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Boncarbo,Colorado
Posts: 74
Default

Watch some of my videos on a members V2
http://iowawhitetail.com/forum/showthread.php?t=45187

Another as well\
http://iowawhitetail.com/forum/showthread.php?t=45288
FrontierGander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 03:10 PM   #5
KSHUNTER
PMA Member
 
KSHUNTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 149
Images: 36
Default

I have a V2 and it took me a while to find the combo that worked for me, but my best results are:
BH 209 120g by volume
250g Hornady with black crushed Rib Sabots
CCI 209 Primers
__________________
Hold tight, you never know when it will happen...
KSHUNTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 03:25 PM   #6
LYON
PMA Member
 
LYON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 2,619
Default

I'm going to 4th or 5th the blackhorn 209 for your powder. Whatever you end up with, good luck!
__________________
John 16:33
LYON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 03:47 PM   #7
jmoose
PMA Member
 
jmoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Coralville, Iowa
Posts: 1,176
Images: 2
Default

i use 150gr 777 pellets, 250gr hornady SST in mine and from the bench, at 100 yds, i'll get 3 shots touching and 2-3" group at 200 without swabbing the barrell. after 3 shots you've gotta run a patch thru the barrell or accuracy falls off.
__________________
A bad day hunting beats the heck out of a good day at work!

Moose
jmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 04:21 PM   #8
westernsix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 118
Default

Do you have to use the Blackhorn Breech plug?
westernsix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 05:51 PM   #9
FrontierGander
Member
 
FrontierGander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Boncarbo,Colorado
Posts: 74
Default

best thing to get if shooting BH209
FrontierGander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 06:39 PM   #10
bigbuckhunter88
PMA Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NE Iowa
Posts: 1,266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by westernsix View Post
Do you have to use the Blackhorn Breech plug?
Don't have to. Shot ours without it last year because I couldn't get my hands on one, but it is much more consistent with the special breech.
Ours is loaded 90 grains of Blackhorn with a 250 grain TMZ
bigbuckhunter88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger