Best Tree's to hinge cut

Discussion in 'Whitetail Management' started by MObowhunter10, Jan 22, 2015.

Tags: Add Tags
  1. MObowhunter10

MObowhunter10 Member

Alright guys, looking at starting my hinge cutting this weekend.. And I have a ton of it to do.. I know Hickory's and Sweet Gum's are both good trees to hinge cut, what others should I be taking down for cover? I'm not a tree expert by any means, and I plan on doing quite a bit of studying before I walk into the woods and turn on the chain saw.

2. AdBot Guest Advertisement

3. Sligh1

Sligh1 Administrator Staff Member

Go hard on Bitternut Hickory, essentially worthless. Reasonably hard on Shagbark hickory where there are groves and you are essentially thinning them, leaving some premium, straight well formed shagbark hickories for future harvest.
    I'd hinge elm all day long. Doesn't hinge quite as well but can work just fine and for sure decent for hinge. Elm rarely reaches maturity due to disease, competes with many desirable trees and has little to no value to deer and many other critters.
    Ash - doesn't hing particularly well but I'd thin these out. Often they "crack" right off so be careful (be careful with ANY tree with any decent size period).
    If you're oaks are crowded and really know your trees, you can hinge some oaks to keep the best ones there, essentially freeing up the best ones by taking an inferior one next to it out. You really gotta know your stuff though or otherwise wait on oaks and get a professional to help.

4. AIRASSAULT

AIRASSAULT PMA Member

I also like to hinge Hackberry

5. LoessHillsArcher

LoessHillsArcher Well-Known Member