Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Buying back crops from farmers

Boonervilleusa

Does anyone know what a person can expect to pay for having a farmer leave either corn or beans standing? I know what market rate is, but do farmers expect to get paid full price for lets say 4 acres of beans and 2 acres of corn? I am meeting with a farmer in a couple days.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I pay full price. The farmer comes out ahead not having to pick, store and transport it. But I figure he deserves it for all of the deer damage he has to tolerate, after I have been leaving crops standing in the same fields for 20 years.

They usually want market value less harvest cost (~$35/ac), otherwise it's basically the same as handing the requesting party a pile of free cash. Some won't take off the harvest cost either. Get's spendy in a hurry. 60 bushel beans ~$600/a. 200 bushel corn ~$800/a. If a guy looks at it in reverse, its completely understandable. Not a lot "free" money floating around to just give away in the ag world at the moment.

Some farmers are bothered to the core about leaving crops even if they are getting paid for whatever reason.

They usually want market value less harvest cost (~$35/ac), otherwise it's basically the same as handing the requesting party a pile of free cash. Some won't take off the harvest cost either. Get's spendy in a hurry. 60 bushel beans ~$600/a. 200 bushel corn ~$800/a. If a guy looks at it in reverse, its completely understandable. Not a lot "free" money floating around to just give away in the ag world at the moment.

Some farmers are bothered to the core about leaving crops even if they are getting paid for whatever reason.