Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Help me pick days for 2018

bigvalleyboy

I've been sitting on points for a few years now and haven't been able to make it out for a hunt due to work/family obligations.
It looks like I'll be able to make it out for a 6-7 day hunt this year but unfortunately my wife has to be out of town for work pretty much in the middle of when I had planned to be hunting.
Basically, my two options are for either a 7 day hunt from 11/1-11/8 or a 6.5 day hunt from 11/10-11/16.
I'm leaning toward the later hunt, but that's based on my knowledge garnered from hunting eastern deer. What do you guys think?

Early November can be tough because the big guys can be locked down with the very first hot does. IMO the best times to kill the most mature deer in the woods is the last few days of October and the 14-18th of November. My vote is for the 10th-16th. The only exception to that is if you have the possibility to watch the weather and plan from there. If its not an option then go with the 10th-16th, if it is an option pick the sets of dates that has clear skies, cold temps, and high pressure.

I echo exactly what muddyhunter said. If your hunting public either late October or mid to late November. Public or private I'm picking the 10th-16th. But lots of guys favorite individual days are in that first week of november

This says a lot. Out of 166 B&C killed with a bow in the last few years. Nov. 1-10 =107, Nov. 1-15=143, Nov.16-30=23. This research was from the P&Y quarterly magazines with the best days being Nov.3=14, 4=15, 5,=15 6=16.

I figured that most people would lean towards the later dates.

Those stats are interesting Non-typ. I never realized how steeply success drops off heading into that third week.