Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Long distance food plotting

MN Slick

PMA Member
I’ve been using Lick Creeks plotting system for a few years but there are a lot of touches which is difficult from 5.5 hours away so I need to simplify. I’m going to try multiple sprayings this year rather than trying to keep the red clover/weeds mowed. Unfortunately, Gly alone isn’t taking care of everything so I need to turn up the heat. Would adding 2-4D to gly do the trick? I plan to spray around Memorial Day, again around July 4th to prep for brassica and a 3rd time about Aug 1 when I plant brassicas for the fall mix so that should allow enough time on the 2-4D. Better options?

Incorporating fertilizer is another problem. I have a small Kasco Versa Drill which is “no till” and have been trying to time urea with rains but it never rains In North MO, lol. Coated urea would be great but I've been unable to find any bagged as my plots are small. Going to a tiller would allow me to incorporate fertilizer and take care of any weeds/grass that the herbicide didn’t kill which sounds good. Is running a PTO tiller as bad for soil as some folks make it out to be? The Kasco is overkill for my acreage and my plan to expand acreage isn’t going to happen so going to a PTO tiller seems like a good option.

Insights would be appreciated. Thanks

If u want things DEAD - run Glufosinate. 45 oz with crop oil and no weeds will be alive. If u wanna add 2,4-d - would add nuclear bomb to it. U would be fine to plant later - a week or 2 - read 2,4-d label & delay will be based on which form of 2,4-d & rate.