Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

New muzzle loader

Buckdown89

Just purchased my first muzzle loader. Acura V2. I'm curious what everyone recommends for a scope. I'm new to muzzleloading so any help is appreciated! What other recommendations??

We have one of the Scheels Paragon Hunter 4x12 model on one of ours and a Vortex on the other. I still prefer the Scheels scope. As for the other recommend I'll say Blackhorn 209 and Barnes TMZ in 250 or 290 grain. That is what our V2's love.

Leopold ultimateslam 3x9x40. Messed around with a few till that one. Reticles are dead nuts once you determine right setting based on load.

All good info above. All I can add is, do not put good money into a gun & cut corners on the glass you put on it. Buy the best quality scope you can possibly afford & you won't be sorry.

Is blackhorn 209 that much more accurate than triple 7 pellets or why is it praised so much ? Loose powder seems like a hassle .

Is blackhorn 209 that much more accurate than triple 7 pellets or why is it praised so much ? Loose powder seems like a hassle .

The powder itself isn't more accurate but the fact that you can fine tune it since it is loose gives you the chance to find a more accurate load... but the real advantage of BH209 is that it's SOOO much cleaner and not as corrosive. If you shoot pellets you'll have that crud ring after each shot and it will be ridiculously harder to load and you might not even be able to fully seat the bullet without brushing/swabbing between shots. I can shoot all day with BH209 and never need to clean the barrel without any loss of accuracy or any more trouble loading . Also it doesn't draw moisture like the pellets do and it will keep longer. I just shot a muzzy that had been left dirty and loaded since last January a few days ago and it was dead nuts on and there was zero corrosion in the barrel, definitely can't do that with 777 or pyrodex.