Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Powder Horn Build

Shovelbuck

Well gang, I guess all this talk of horns and such has me wanting a somewhat fancy powder horn. I'd like to get one that my friend makes but since I haven't worked in a 7 weeks due to a back injury, that isn't happening. And this is something I can do without strain to my back. So, the next best thing is try it myself.
Now remember, I've never done this type of horn before so don't expect a masterpiece. I'll give it my best shot and hope it doesn't end up in the trash before it's all over.
Here's where I'm at so far.......................
I scraped a horn smooth that I had then marked it for the basic pattern I want. Then I rough carved the design in. Here was the first mistake. I carved it too thin in a couple places and now I have some small holes to fill. After the patch is set up. I'll scrape and polish smooth, then color.

DSCN0464.jpg

DSCN0466.jpg

DSCN0467.jpg

DSCN0468.jpg

If anyone is interested, this is where it's at so far..................
Yesterday I repaired the holes, then this morning I stained the carved spout.

DSCN0470.jpg

After that project, I had to clean excess dye off and then finish sand. Next is scrimshaw and I'm still trying to decide what to put on it. I'm currently leaning toward a nautical theme.
DSCN0474.jpg

Actually I am very interested in this project. One would never know that you had never attempted this before. :)

That black stain looks good on the white horn.

I have made a number of powder horns over the years, but I have never done any carving on them.

Great start! Now comes the fun and hard parts so take you time. Some one said "If you slow down and take your time you will have a much more harmonouis outcome". Nice pictures as well.

What did you use for the carving, Dremel tool? Looks amazing already!!! I've always been interested in learning about the scrimshaw process, I'll be watching this one!!!!