Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Bedding areas

sau15

I see it all the time on hunting shows… “get between the bedding area and food.” I’ve seen deer bed down everywhere. I guess my question is how many acres constitutes a bedding area? Some of these guys are hunting huge parcels, so is a bedding area 40 acres? 60? 80? I will say terrain does matter in my opinion. I hunt 80 acres of river bottom that is in CRP, the CRP butts up to 30 acres of timber that I don’t have permission to hunt. I’ve been hunting this area for a few years and it seems the deer bed all over in the CRP. Anybody hunt anything similar? Or any advice, other than find new hunting ground lol.
Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I’ve seen bedding areas that are an acre or less . It really depends on the area. I don’t think there’s a real minimum, but having a lot of bedding is a huge plus!

I think it’s very dependent. I have a piece that they literally bed anywhere over 30 acres. Now that being said- the bigger bucks have very defined areas on that 30 acres.
I’d say through the whole year you can pick off certain areas that are most likely in pieces that are all over- but I don’t think I’d be real concerned. If you have does bed around the crp- the bucks will come searching.

It's all a learning game. Another frustrating thing to bedding is that it can change with the weather. In summer/early fall I tend to find bucks low in marshy, shaded areas. In the frigid winter they'll want to be backed up to some thermal cover with the sun on them. I've seen bedding areas as small as 1/2 acre and as big as 40+ (I'm also hunting smaller parcels <200ac). Mature bucks tend to have smaller bedding areas that they prefer for a reason (not only cover, but advantages to sight or smell and ability to escape)