Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

big blue stem

DOR

Life Member
I want to plant some big blue stem for a landowner that lets me hunt. How do you go about it when to plant etc....
not a day of farming in my body so keep it stupid-simple for me! Thanks
Also thought about planting some late beans as well what would it cost to plant 2 acres? Seed cost only!

You'll get your best results with a drill. If it is not a native grass drill you'll need to take care that the seed is carried all the way through by mixing with a larger seed like oats. Native seeds can plug your drill because of the way the seed is shaped. They make a good nurse crop and help pull the odd shaped big blue seed through the drill. Set your planter shallow, about a 1/8 of an inch. You could add a wild forb to the mix, partridge pea, and diversify the planting to better suit wildlife. I am no expert so if somebody wants to correct any of this feel free. In just did a planting which included these two varieties and a few others at a cost of around $75 an acre.

Check with your local DNR, county conservation, or pheasants forever, they will be able to tell you where to rent a native grass drill, just did 15 acres this spring and the cost for the drill was $10 an acre. Planted little bluestem, side oats grama, canada wild rye, partridge peas and blackeyed susan.