Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Bowhunting Iowas public Land

Hi everyone i am new to the board and was looking for some suggestions on Bowhunting Iowas public Land. I have been buying preference points since 2011 and currently have 5. I am wanting to apply in the next week or so but was looking for suggestions from residents to make sure i am making the best decision i possibly can. I am considering Zone 5 but willing to put in for anyone that offers the most and best opportunities for decent hunting and possibly primitive camping near bye. Anyone willing to suggest some Public Ground either on this thread or by PM? It would be greatly appreciated. I have looked at the interactive map for years now and have basically become more and more confused lol. I am just trying to have the best possible time i can for the one time i will probably ever go through this process and pay the price for the tag to experience Iowa. I am no stranger to Public Land as that's all i have ever hunted. Going in far and staying late is no problem. Thanks for any help in advance and good luck to all this coming season.

full

You should meet plenty of your neighbors there. Last time I drew in 2017 there was no shortage. I have hunted zone 5 public five or six times since 1990 as a NR. Scouted more than that. I highly recommend scouting if you have not done so. You would really be shorting yourself. The DNR closed down the only cheap hot showers on public 3 years ago, at Honey Creek. So that option is out. I just inherited the whole state for my facility inspection job so I’m jumping ship and will be scouting public in other zones with less pub. The hunting service magazines are killing the points required for the last 5-6 years. But I heard they just jacked the NR app fee to $60/year and the deer tag as well.