Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Hunting with a Hinge

Tmayer13

A little back story to start. I suffered SEVERLY from target panic. Thought about going up archery my anxiety was bad. 2019 hits and I know I'm going to be chasing the largest deer of my career, so I make the decision to relearn shooting a bow. I broke down my form, I followed John Dudley's school of nock word for word. By the end of the summer I shooting dimes. Now that's the short version but there was a ton of pain and heartache to get there.
So in 2019 I started shooting a resistance activated release (Carter Silverback). And I've shot it ever since with great success but I wanted to be more accurate. So as I purchased a new bow this year I also switched to a hinge style release. I chose the Ultraview Hinge 2.
So far I love it, my groups have never be tighter and all is well. But as I'm learning to master the hinge I can't help but think I'm a bang bang situation will I regret moving this release.
Unfortunately for me going back to a trigger style release of any sort will most likely never be an option, so resistance or hinge releases will have to work.
Any guys out there that are hunting with hinge releases?
d1259a84d05a359540c0b42e91c6e7e5.jpg
57eebd35c6b7ba9838825eda1543abc0.jpg

Sent from my moto g power (2022) using Tapatalk

I suffered SEVERLY from target panic
I feel your pain, went through that years ago and it drove me nuts. Started while shooting recurve and long bows, took over a year to get it under control but not 100%. Went to a compound and shot well but got it again, wasn't using a release or sights. Ended up getting a release and eventually a sight. I never tried a hinge or back tension release but thought about trying though. I'd be interested to see any feedback as well.

I’m not a “gear nut”…. Are these similar to “thumb releases” or same?