Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Planting decisions

bjkpharmd

I'm curious how others decide what to plant. I've seen lots of questions here "What should I do?" looking for input and others that say "We are doing this ..." looking for advice on ground prep, etc. The usual suspects are the "name brand" forage & attractants, or corn, beans, clover, alfalfa, rye, or wheat. I try to fill weak spots for the area to provide nutrition year round but haven't really done this in any scientific manner. The turnip post made me wonder how people decide what to plant and if it isn't something "normal" for the area, have people had good luck. Chufa grew well for me last year but got little use.

Food is food to deer, does not matter what they are used to...in most caeses anyways. I am just getting into the food plot stuf this year and plan on seeding forage oats and turnips in the late summer. It would be useless for me to plant any corn or beans based on the idea I have this stuff all around my hunting area...I just look at what will provide the deer with food during the fall and winter months, I have heard a lot of good stuff about the turnips and oats in years past.

I put in whats normal for the area. Its just close for them to get at with out going out in the open so far from cover.Soybeans and corn .Big plots In the open don't get used till late winter.

I'm putting out forage oats late summer, and alrealdy have alfalfa.Also I planted about 8-10 acres of corn and grain sorgum and a few soybeans. My idea is the soybeans are there cause I can view alot of deer on them right now and turn them under to plant the oats later on.And the corn is great late season food,all the local corn is usually gone and turned under . And the grain sorgum I planted I don't know yet I know the quail and pheasants and turkeys love it.