Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Screwed over in the Davenport City Hunt

mplane72

PMA Member
A little rant and a heads up for others that may find themselves in the same boat.

I've been participating in this hunt for about 5 years now. Last year the flyer the city put out stated a hunter had to shoot and register 2 does to earn their buck tag for the following season. That is a change from prior years when it was three. I figured they were making it easier since the deer numbers have been dropped and they have been losing hunters.

Anyway, I contacted the hunt coordinator the other day about getting my buck tag and he responded with this...

[FONT=&quot]Last year you would have had to shoot 3 does and according to our records and DNR’s you only shot 2…….[/FONT]

I responded that there must be some mistake. I still have a copy of the info flyer from last season and it clearly states 2 doe. Then I sent him a picture I took of it.

forum

forum

That got me a phone call from the guy. He gave me a bunch of crap about not knowing how that could have happened, it was 3 does. I said it was a little late for that. I followed the published rules in good faith and now 2 weeks before the season opens your telling me I'm screwed. He said he would talk to the biologist that over sees the hunt.

Yesterday I had a long phone call with Gregg Harris-DNR Biologist. I won't rehash all that. Suffice to say I'm SOL.

I know it's just a deer but I hate this feeling of getting screwed over and starting my season on a sour note. If I knew of anyone else to plead my case to I would. Anyone have any ideas?

FYI. If you participate in this hunt it's 3 does again this year. If B&B gave you a copy of last years regs, like they did me, they are incorrect.
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]

Last edited: