Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Sunflowers/Dove Plot

Rauk42

This is my first year planting sunflowers for a couple dove plots, just curious if anyone else plants them on here. I am wondering what guys do to control the weeds in the sunflowers once they get going? I killed the areas good with roundup then came back in and planted. Just seeing if there is any chemicals I can apply during the summer to help with weed control, thanks!!!

Best results would have been to have sprayed with atrazine as a pre-emergent. Not sure what else you could get away with.

I did the same as you last year... Roundup, then planted, and I found that I really didn't have much trouble at all with weeds. There may have been a few, but certainly not enough to worry about.

I have done a combination of Dual II & Prowl as pre-emergent though not sure I need to. I had it mixed up for corn & beans so I used it. Otherwise, Poast or better yet Clethodim will help if you have a bunch of grass competition after sunflowers are up. Hopefully they are up by now to be mature in time for Sept. 1 opener. I start mowing some of them early to mid-August to get the birds used to coming to your plot for the big day. Hope to NOT get a cold nasty rain August 31... Then the folks in MO get to shoot all the doves we've been feeding... :(

sunflowers are pretty aggressive...i get away without any chemicals by timing the discing/seeding/weather. Put them on a bit heavy (broadcast) and once they canopy out, the weeds are toast.

With what you did, you'll be fine.