Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Buck/Doe ratio

D&D Flesheaters

Owner of D&D Flesheaters
I've had a little dispute with a friend who is completely against harvesting does, and beleives that the ratio between bucks and does doesn't effect our hunting. Where we're at, there is about 1 buck to 15-20 does. I look at some of the best hunting in the midwest and see a much different scenario. It seems like all the areas that are harvesting tremendous deer have a 1/2-1/4, buck/doe ratio. I'm looking for some ammo, or facts I could give my friend to try and pursuade him that the doe population needs to come down in our area, but I'm not very knowledgable. I've noticed how all of you seem very keen on harvesting does. Do any of you have any points I could make?

Rustyhunter,
I am no expert..but it is common sense that buck to doe ratio makes a difference. I am a conservation major at Iowa State University so i am taking lots of biology, ...its pretty simple to figure out that the competitive animal behavior shown by deer during breeding season is either heightened because there are not very many does to breed, or it is decreased because there are plenty. The simple analogy that i would give your friend is this. If there are a lot of does to breed, bucks don't have to worry as much about cruising the territory to find hot does, and they don't have to worry about the competition of other bucks. the reason for this is because there are plenty of does to go around. If there aren't very many does, then the bucks have to start cruising or rutting so to speak and find hot does. they also have to worry about other bucks getting to the hot does. When the buck to doe ratio is closer to being even, buck movement is increased and the chances of taking a mature buck is tremendously increased. The opposite of this occurs when the ratio is farther apart like you said it is in your area.