Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Evening hunts.....

Iowaide

How many out there hunt in the evenings as well as the mornings? What tactics are you using if you do? I don't want to blow anything out of there for the next morning if I can help it. I thought I may try to expand my season a little bit this year and hopefully increase my odds that way.
Thanks
Sean

I've had good luck in the past hunting near the roost site, cuz they do come back most of the time in the areas I hunt. Killed quite a few birds at 6:00-6:30pm.

Just a novice here, but who cares about the morning if you kill your bird the night before? From what I've seen and read if you do hunt near a roost you wanna wait till its BLACK out before sneaking out.

Dean

When I hunt afternoons/evenings I tend to do one of two things. The first is to find a good ridge, with a lot of turkey sign and sit for awhile. I will call sparingly and see if I can get a response. If I hear gobbles off in the distance i'll move in on the bird, and sit down and again, call sparingly. I feel that afternoons/evenings are some of the best times to kill a tom, because he gets done breeding his hens and is out looking for more.

Another thing I like to do is to just go sit on a field edge where I have seen birds before. I'll sit tight and wait, and wait, and wait, while calling every once in awhile, and if your lucky you'll connect with a tom.

Regardless of which approach I take, I'll usually find out where they roost at that night and be able to sneak back in the morning!

hunting the evening is important!