Farmer brush cleared too much.

ELK919

So, I have a dilemma, this is my first year of ownership and am only in the first 6 months of ownership…. I have attached a couple pictures of my property (160 acres) .. the one photo is “without leafs” on onX… and the other is the most recent from 2021 I believe…

Green Shape -20 acres dryland tillable
Red -will be 30 acres -(current state is brush infested pasture)
Blue -could 15 acres (current state-kinda limestone rock and brush infested pasture)

Anyway, the 2 green shapes on the top or north end of the photos are already crop land that has farming history, typically corn/bean rotation this fall will be drilled to alfalfa.

The Red shape is what the farmer and I agreed to and signed the contract to brush clear (lease has a picture of the map in it) so he can plant alfalfa in both green and red shapes... the Blue shape is an area that the farmer was not supposed brush clear but he did thinking that since he cleared it he could also plant the blue in alfalfa too…however I’m not sure that is what’s best… the amount of brush (buckbrush, sumac, locust) I thought would create great additional bedding… but I also see it as could be a good thing to establish farming history as the better long term play.

My question is should I let the farmer plant and drill alfalfa this fall on both the red and blue and create farming history (yes i confirmed with FSA that alfalfa would count as a crop) and just create an amendment to the lease allowing that or how would people suggest handling this?

Bonus question- what would you do with the yellow shape??? It is 4.5acres everything around it in green and red is going to be alfalfa…

I would love some thoughts and advice..

Attachments

• IMG_8966.jpeg
    IMG_8966.jpeg
    661.4 KB · Views: 65
  • IMG_8964.jpeg
    IMG_8964.jpeg
    568.1 KB · Views: 67