Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Charcoal Lines Suits

I've been using them for several years and I'm convinced they do make a difference for me. I've found I need to reactivate them two to three times more often than the manufacturer recommends. Also they are not 100% effective. I still take many other precautions: shower once or twice a day with unscented soap, use unscented deodorant, wear rubber boots which touch nothing but hunting ground all fall, touch as little vegetation as possible near stand locations, play the wind, hunt high, etc. I also have friends who say the carbon suits don't work at all for them so my current conclusion is they are of some help for some people.

Wheres the science? In theory I can see where scent elemination clothing works, but where is the research to back it up? I think scent elimination clothing is another way to try and seperate me from my $$$$$, unless somebody can show me some type of unbiased clinical research my $$$ is gonna stay in my pocket. Is it just the "latest and greatest, gotta have to bag a trophy" pushed on us by somebody out to make a buck? Or sell magazines?

IMHO

The 'Bonker

[This message has been edited by Fishbonker (edited 09-22-2001).]

For a long time I dismissed the charcoal hype as just that, marketing hype. Why, well it made me feel better about being unwilling to spend the money on one.
If you research the technology behind the method you will be convinced its sound logic. To be totally effective you would have to make it air tight.
There are a half dozen or more makers now and as a result the price has dropped. I picked up a ScentLoc lined shirt and later a head cover. No pants yet, but I've only got $62.00 invested. I figure, Advantage Timber hunting shirt = 30.00 Head cover = 12.00 so the ScentLoc cost me $20.00 I've wasted more on worst things.