Do Doe Genes Matter?

G

Good article by Charles J. Alsheimer in OutdoorLife

A quote from the article...

Managing for Genetic Success
Although a doe’s genes may not be visually apparent, they are just as important to antler growth as the buck’s. Here are some things you can do to improve the genetics of your does.

What do you think?

Well I haven't read the article, but here are some insights/questions: First of all, does the buck determine the sex of the fawn to be born? I would say yes. Being a biology teacher, I know that with humans the Y chromosome donated by the male determines whether the baby is a boy (XY) or a girl (XX). The female has no Y chromosome at all. If a male donates an X, and a female donates an X, the XX child will have female characteristics. But, even though that's the case, the X chromosome will STILL have what we call "accessory genes" that can help to "fine-tune" characteristics of either sex.

Now ..... if this would hold true with deer, let's say that a huge, genetically gifted trophy buck donates an X chromosome and when it matches up with another X chromosome of the female, a doe fawn is born. I would think, in that case, that this newly-born doe HAS AT LEAST A FEW OF THE GENETIC TRAITS OF THE BUCK, ON A GENETIC BASIS, IF THE X CHROMOSOME CONTRIBUTES ANYTHING TO ANTLER GROWTH. Not necessarily visible to the naked eye, but still there nonetheless.

In which case, the doe will breed with another buck and the genes passed down from the genetically gifted one into the doe may help to "fine tune" antler growth on a future buck and make him larger?? Maybe I'm just rambling.
smile.gif

I have not read the article, but I can with no reservation, say that in horses the mare is perhaps more important than the stud, with reguard to overall conformation quaility, and ability. I would not be suprised to learn the same of deer.

HBH