Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Don't want to be a pest,,,But,,,

loneranger

Thank You Men so much for your advice and experiences.I am new to the Iowa Hunting experience.Here where I live 85% of our bucks are yearlings.They don't know what Rattling,or grunts are.I have just twomore questions.Is 40 acres sufficient for any decent hunting? I know what is on it,and surrounding property,big factors.This 40 has lots of brush choked ravines,young oak thickets,and cedars.Surrounding land is woods and crops. It looked good to me last Jan. when out there,,lots of beds and trails. I plan on planting some clover in openings and have local farmer plant the only tillable spot with corn or Alfalfa. Guy that sold to me said I should see 10 to 20 bucksa season crossing a 40 like that? Also,,what are the State and County Wildlife refuges like for Bow Hunt pressure out there? Do the city hunters pile onto them?My land is Se of Ottumwa and there are several refuges nearby.Thanks again, for your generous help.Loneranger.

loneranger,
I think you are going to be pleasantly surprised at the number of deer you will see on that 40. You are in a great area. Everything is relative to what you are used to I am guessing your definition of pressure and mine are different as mine is different from what Saskguy's is... My guess is you are in good shape.
waytogo.gif

i agree with Limb, you're going to be happy with what you'll see. you probably won't hold deer in your ground but they'll definately be moving through it, especially during the rut!! good luck!!