Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Fur prices

AIRASSAULT

PMA Member
Just thought I would start a thread for anyone curious about fur prices. Today, my dad and I sold 10 coon to Groenwolds green. We got $1 for1, $5 for 2, $15 for 1, $20 for 1, $22 for 2, $32 for 2, and last but certainly not least we had a top dollar boar that went for $40. They said they would have given us $50 if it were finished!

Fur-Fish & Game magazine said prices would be as good or better this year than last. Sounds like you are doing okay so far up your way! :way:

Good ole Grony. I've never ever heard of them not paying 40 dollars for 1 coon out of a group.

I'm new to this.. You think maybe they low balled us on some of our other pelts and then gave us $40 for the best one to make us feel all warm and fuzzy inside? Hmm.. those bastards! :D Oh well.. We still averaged over $17 and that is definately more than I was expecting anyway. The three lowest one's looked like this years offspring, so I'm sure that really hurt the average also.
Are there any tips for selling fur as far as getting a better price on them..? Can you talk up the price on them or will they just basically tell you to find someone else to sell to?