Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Iowa DNR Shoot themselves in the foot?

OLETOM

I am a NR and was wondering what you residents think about the Turkey Season for NR. I see that they still have a pile of tags available? Do you think they did right by this increase in tag price? I would have loved to come back down again this year but not for $189.50. Kinda sucks in my eyes but you residents might see it different. I had a ball chasing birds down there last year.

Good luck this year!

OLETOM

$189.50?!?!?!!? For a turkey? Jeesh, you'd think for that you'd get a free night at a Stinky 8 motel somewhere. Being a resident I've never really looked at the non-resident stuff, if that's what it costs in other states I know I'll be sticking in Iowa!

...this may surprise most people, but the IDNR thinks that NR's have to pay too much also!...they never wanted such a large increase in NR fees...they have been asking the Legislature to increase the price of resident licenses for at least a couple of years now...but the Legislature will not do it, they just keep raising the fees for NR...guess they figure that they will increase the fees for the only people that cannot vote against them next election year!...I think the IDNR is having better luck this year however, both with a resident increase and a NR decrease...

I think that that price for a turkey is a little extreme, and I am not against an increase in resident licenses as long as they are reasonable. What I am against is an increase in the residents licenses along with no increase in nonresident licenses and an increase in the number of nonresident licenses available. I don't mind paying to hunt our turkeys, but I definitely do not want more competition for hunting ground.

OLETOM,