Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Lucky Minnesota Buck

dubbs

I've been a lurker here for a while now but I finally have something worth sharing, even if it's not from Iowa. I'm originally from MN but went to college in Iowa and have been living here since I graduated 4 years ago. The bow hunting in Iowa is awesome, but I still make time to go home and hunt. I bought a lifetime MN archery license before I changed residency to Iowa so I get to bow hunt in MN for free the rest of my life. I wish Iowa offered that!

I was at my fiance's family in SE MN over Thanksgiving. I brought my hunting stuff in case I got a chance to get out of the house. Saturday afternoon I got the opportunity to head out to some public land that I have never scouted outside of google earth.

I arrived at the parking area, there were no other vehicles, but there were boot tracks all over. Even though there didn't appear to be anyone out there I put on some extra blaze orange to be safe since it was the second to last day of the shotgun season.

I didn't see one set of deer tracks on the mile long hike to the location I had picked out online. I got set up in my climber just off an unpicked corn field at the top of a steep ravine. I had a feeling I wouldn't see anything and I was right. Not a sign of deer anywhere. My dad was texting me updates on the Gopher-Badger football game and it sounded like I was missing a good game. So a half hour before sunset I climbed down to head home and catch the 2nd half of the game.