Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Management Help

Status
  • Deleted by N/A

TheMadCatter

You see I'm new to this management thing. Well actualy I pretty much haven't done anything. I'm limited to only 2-3 acres or less for food plots which I know nothing about. 90 percent of the land we have is crop ground. We have a small creek with a few trees and 1 draw and 1 acre of swichgrass. My Dad is willing to leave alittle bit of beans out for hunting season this year. We have/rent around 300+ acres around our house. I'd love to have some advice on how to help it be more deer friendly. I'm just stumped on what to do any advice would be helpful.

Thanks, Josh.

Last edited:
Post a topo photo of your property and we will be able to point a few things out for you. :way:

How is your deer density? That will dictate how much food you will need.

Post a topo photo of your property and we will be able to point a few things out for you. :way:

How is your deer density? That will dictate how much food you will need.

Alright, the deer density...hmmm I scared out 19 deer while setting up my brand new trail cam today. I say about 10 deer are on the property all the time and the farm next to ours...shoot...he's a CRP freak. Lemme get some pictures posted. Brb...

Last edited:
Ok, thats a good start. Keep a mental note of where they were bedded in relation to food sources, nearest cover, etc. Not saying they will always be there but 99% chance that wasn't the 1st time they bedded there. Pay attention to entry and exit strategies in regards to your possible stand locations, and prevailing fall winds. More later, hope this helps.

picture.php

picture.php

picture.php

picture.php

The place next to ours...
picture.php

picture.php

picture.php

So, where would I put a food plot? I have a place in my mind already set out in that southwestern corner on the 2nd fence row.