Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Need some advise

rookie10pt

Well we drove by a piece of property to day, that are neighbor said he a couple of whoppers on earlier this year. Saw 28 turkeys and 5 deer, one was a buck that had one side missing. Assuming i get permission: What advise can you guys give me for shed hunting and then later scouting and bow hunting a piece of property i never have set a foot on? Any advise would be helpful:)

sorry but i'm new to all of this

Most likely you will not nail the stand position on your 1st attempt so as mentioned before get out there an observe the deer movement and you can then make your fine adjustments.

A good place to start is to look at aerial photos and find pinch points/funnels, food, heavy cover, inside corners and so on. Bing.com provides a great high defintion aerial view that is very helpful. If you post pic of the aerial on here I am sure folks would be more than happy to give you some pointers as a place to start.

Good luck!!

Sit out there on the highest point you can or good food source and just watch where they are coming from. If your lucky might get some snow and you could stumble on a bedding area or mid day beds and gather a lot of info on that alone. If you get permission to set trail cams as well that would help do your nighttime recon. Things to look for heavy oaks, honeysuckles, water, and pinchpoints where one block of timber connects to another. Pine trees always seem to be a good bet when the weather is bad so I've noticed. fingers of field cut in timber seem to produce fairly good deer movement. Aerial map would be great to help out further