Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

New Bow Hunter

O

oliver21117

I received Hoyt Magnatec Bow ZR200 (50-60 lb draw Weight) for Xmas. I have a few questions and concerns since I am new to the sport.

1. Is a 50-60 lb. draw weight sufficient for Deer?
2.What is the average draw weight for the average bow hunter?
3. Am I compromising speed if I do not upgrade to a heavier draw weight.
4. Can I upgrade cams and limbs after becoming familiar with the bow?
5. Any overall opinion on the Hoyt magnatec is it a good choice and where does it stand on quality of bows.

Any hints or tips are appreciated

Thanks again

Avid Hunter

I hope this helps:
1) 50-60lbs is plenty to bring down whitetails.
2)60-70lbs on average (although I drop down 5-8lbs when it gets cold)
3)No
4)Yes, if your bow is a 2002 model I would say the XT2000 limbs are a great choice, The Versacam is a good single cam (allows you to change draw length quite a bit....3-4"?)
5)Owned a lot of Hoyt's...First was a Magnatec. It was medium in Hoyt's line when I purchased it several years back. Don't take me wrong that is a great bow and one that should last you a very long time. Shoot it a lot and HAVE FUN. The memories you create will last a lifetime.

ooops..... you should be able to tighten a 60lb bow to the 62-64lb range. I would rather have it maxed (pulling pounds) as opposed to halfway (i.e.: 62lbs on a bow that maxes out at 72-74lbs) I hope this helps.....I also reccomend a reputable Archery shop. Good advice goes a long ways, but a properly fit bow will make the funner times come easier....hell I should have been a philosophor
cool.gif

We used to hunt with bows in the 40-50 # range when I got started. A good shot and clean release goes clear through a whitetail even at those weights.