Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

OVERKILL ????

miff007

I travel for a living and I make it a point to take different routes to look at terrain and look for deer etc. Some of the antlerless quotas this year seem excessive to me. Most of the overpopulation seems to be in those areas where no hunting is allowed (parks, refuges etc.) Other than that I think the herd is thin enough...

What do you guys think of the antlerless quotas especially Van Buren county @5000 tags, Clayton@ 5500 WOW...

Check page 5

Some of the quota's are not overkill.

Reason being especially in the southern half of the state, a lot is outfitters, some parks, or big name companies/hunters with ground (who dont like to kill a lot of does)

A lot of trophy hunting going on also for the most part.

But you will also see at the end of the year that most of those quota's will not be sold out.

Im sure a lot of the doe kills go unreported in the southern most counties. If you know what I mean.

I don't know about Clayton county, but I don't see 5000 as too many in Van Buren. There are still scads of deer out and about in that area.

how many of those counties will even sell out? my county used to be 1400 tags, they never came close to selling them all, so, in order to increase the doe kill.......they raised the quota????
wtf?

since many of these counties in the south don't sell their allotment of tags, why not slash the prices of the tags in the counties where they are trying to increase the harvest?

[ QUOTE ]
how many of those counties will even sell out? my county used to be 1400 tags, they never came close to selling them all, so, in order to increase the doe kill.......they raised the quota????
wtf?

since many of these counties in the south don't sell their allotment of tags, why not slash the prices of the tags in the counties where they are trying to increase the harvest?

[/ QUOTE ]