Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

pics

Lucky13

Now i realize that this is a very young buck but I am new to attempting to age a deer...and if this deer is 2.5 then to me he has very good genetics and in two years could be a pig...now this is all speculation because i literally have no idea what im talking about...:p

Many 2.5 year old bodies can be huge in Iowa. i have shot them before but that was before i started passing them. It can be hard to pass them with a 120" rack but once you start passing them it gets easier. great potential there on that one, hope he makes it through.

Looks like a nice 2.5 year old. They come bigger than him, but also smaller than him for that age class.

i would never shoot this deer at this point and i know this subject gets pounded pretty hard but i am originally from the state of Michigan where this deer would get killed and it would be one to be proud of...so are most of the 1.5 yr old deer out there spikes and forks?

Many are forked and spikes but will have good rack the second year. i have seen 1.5 year olds with real tiny 6 and 8 point racks though, it's really kind of neat to see a really small 8 point rack about the size of your hands.

i would never shoot this deer at this point and i know this subject gets pounded pretty hard but i am originally from the state of Michigan where this deer would get killed and it would be one to be proud of...so are most of the 1.5 yr old deer out there spikes and forks?

Some are some are 6 and 8 points as yearling. Have seen a few that were 10's...all the 10's were in the back of someone's truck...ouch.

Generally 6 point average IMO for 1.5's with some 8's and some small as spikes.