prevailing winds

teacher

I've always thought that the prevailing winds have been out of the NorthWest and West here in Iowa. I'm no expert on wind direction, but there's been some weird winds this year for me (and not of the chili kind). Seems to be more winds out of the east for me. Also a lot of changing directions too. I expect southerly winds in the early season, but not the easterly so much. I'm just wondering if anybody would like to share their knowledge of wind direction. Thanks for the help!

Your right.There has been alot of E.S.E wind's this year,I know this because we have a couple of stand's that we can only hunt on east wind's and I've been in them alot more then usual this year.I think there's also alot of south wind's this time of year for Iowa and that is not that unusual as far as I know.Intrested to see what everyone else think's about it.

I don't hold much stock in prevailing winds. Every system brings in a chance of changing winds. Check out the iso bars on the weather maps. You can predict your wind patterns by the direction these run. Also, the closer together they are the more wind we will have. L pressure systems rotate opposite of H pressure.

I try to have a stand set for every possible wind direction. In my best spots, I'll put a couple stands to take advantage of multiple wind directions.

I am no meteorologist so prior to my hunts, I check www.weather.com and www.wunderground.com for wind direction, expected forcast/precip, and temp. Here in the midwest, things can change at the drop of a hat and I do what I can to get ahead of it. Sometimes, I get caught with a bad forcast/prediction and it fouls the hunt for the AM/PM?????What can you do?

Interesting question teacher I went back in my log to check it out in the
N E iowa area I hunted from 1985-2003