Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Scouting/Spotlighting!

Wiggleworm

I'm wondering if there is anybody out there that recreational spotlights as means of scouting? I've been spotting for 5 yrs and have seen numerous of mature bucks at night. I know alot of you will think that this is illegal but it isn't as long as you obide by the rules. As for you can't have any weapons in possesion!!! Nope not even a pocket knife. I've been stopped by the DNR numerous of times.

This means of scouting paid off for me last fall when I found a big 10pt. on the night of Nov.16 and arrowed him on Nov.18 Sunday afternoon. He scored 181 gross and netted 170 1/8.

I for the most part try to take my video cam with me when ever possible. the photage shows up surprisinly well. So lets hear it . Is there anybody else out there like I.

Thanks for your imput!!!

I've used it as a means of scouting and plan to again. I consider it fair chase. Hey, look at all the guys using remote cameras! There are some precautions and I don't encourage everyone to do it. Some guys are to stupid to do it with out getting into trouble. (shining farm houses, livestock ect.)

I did not know that you could do this. But it sounds like you have checked it out. Maybe I will try it sometime. Does the light spook deer or will they continue there rutine?

I do this quite a bit and my kids love it too. It will give you a new perspective on the bucks living in your area, expecially this time of the year.