Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

State Fair Calling.....

K

Kokomo Joe

It's great to finally be part of the conversation after being a visitor to this site for a while.

I was wondering if anybody went to the turkey calling competition, and if so what your comments are about it? Kokomo.

it was a straight waste of time the people i dont think even knew what a turkey call was
shocked.gif

I HAVE BEEN CALLING IN CONTEST FOR 17 YEARS AND NO ONE HAS EVER CONTACTED ME ON THIS EVENT. DONT YOU THINK IT WOULD BE IMPORTANT TO HAVE SOME QUALITY AT THE EVENT. IM PISSED TO SAY THE LEAST ABOUT INSULTING THE COMPETITIVE CALLERS OF THIS AREA,NOT EVER REALLY SHOWING PEOPLE WHAT A TURKEY SOUNDS LIKE. AND I AM OUTRAGED TO BE EMBARASSED BY THE LACK OF TALENT APPEARING AT THE STATE FAIR

Unfortunately, both of the comments have hit the nail right on the head, so I might as well spill the beans. I entered-took second place out of four people--BIG WHOOP! Having never entered in a calling contest previously who would have known what to expect. The Iowa State Fair is supposed to be state competition, isn't it? I feel confident enough to call turkeys on command but do not have the credentials like I think you need in order to win.

Only those who were there truly understand what I mean. True Story--after the competition I had a half a dozen total strangers come up to me and tell me I was robbed. In any event,I totally agree with M350 and for future reference I wouldn't reccommend doing the competition next year unless there was some changes. Thanks for listening.--Kokomo