Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Succession - good idea, bad idea

Daver

PMA Member
I am still a newbie as far as planting food plots and so forth, but it is a lot of fun watching them grow and seeing the hundreds of deer tracks stomped into the dirt and knowing they are there because of something you did. (If you plant it, they will come!
grin.gif
)

Whether this was a good idea or a bad idea or just a waste of seed, here is what I did the other day. I would like to get some experienced opinions on this please...

I had a plot of turnips planted in mid August that are coming along nicely. In the hard rain the other day I decided to "use up" some other seed(s) that I had and I broadcast those over the turnip plot, trusting the rain to take them in the soil which it looked like it was doing. The seed I broadcast was a commercial mix of ladino clover, white clover, and other clover varieties. My thinking was that the clover, planted now, would give me some growth for next Spring, the turnips will get hammered in the next 2 months. Smart or stupid?

Since that felt so good and I had some more seed left,
crazy.gif
, I decided to keep it up. So I went over a winter wheat food plot that is up about 4" to 6" with the same clover mix. Good idea or bad idea?

My thinking was that the more seed I laid down, the more stuff I would grow and extend the life of the plot.

Great Idea! I'd question the execution though- I'd probably have left it til March and frost seeded the clover blend. If clover geminates and gets too little growth this fall, you may lose a bunch over the winter. Some QDMers are making lots of talk about not "clearing the table" and having gaps in time when there is no food in a plot.