Buck Hollow Sporting Goods - click or touch to visit their website Midwest Habitat Company

Outfitters leasing

Hillwalker

Well now it's happened to me. A nice piece of ground I have been bowhunting for several years has been snatched up by the big some big Outfitter in Western Iowa. I haven't found out yet who it is yet. I have been a very decent and respectful hunter. Not driving in the fields or taking in others and even sent the landowner gratituates like Dinner certificates. I found out last night that he has been offered a "good amount of money" for the lease. It kind of made me fell like giving up the sport but if we all did that it would not help the Sport. I do have other land to hunt but having your sweet spot taken away kind of hurts. I am just wondering if anyone else has had this problem in the Loess Hills area? or anywhere else. Kind of takes the wind out of your sails!

I can feel for you Hillwalker.Allthough i've never had it happen to me. I think their will a lot of people feeling like you do in the future. It does seem this the way the sport is going. It all about the $$. I quess we can't blame them for making a living! The landowners, not the big outfitters. The landowners are our friends and neighbors for the most part. That,s why we are lucky to be living in Iowa, you still have other places to hunt,and will find more.
I'm about as western Iowa as you can--Monona county, 11/2 miles from the mighty Mo.I hunt up in Woodbury around the Little Sioux. Where is your hunting ground?
I got a couple of ideas on who the outfitter maybe!
I'll do some checking!